builderall

Builderall Glossary

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301 Redirect
A method of redirecting a visitor from one web page to another web page. This type of redirect is to be used for permanent redirects (example: you own websiteA.com and websiteB.com but you only want one website. You would 301 redirect all of the traffic from websiteB.com to websiteA.com so that all visitors end up on websiteA.com)
 
302 Redirect
A method of redirecting a visitor from one page to another web page, used for temporary situations only. For permanent redirects, instead use a 301.
 
404 Error
The error message that appears when a visitor tries to go to a web page that does not exist.  Builderall allows you to create 404 error pages and name them “404”.

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A

A/B Testing
If you want to improve your marketing efforts, A/B testing may come in handy. This is the process of comparing two variations of the same variable to find out which one performs best The variations can be change in copy, call-to-actions, landing pages, etc.

Above the Fold
In website terms, 'above the fold' is the type of content that a website visitor sees before scrolling down on a specific page It's useful being aware of this type of content when you are creating landing pages for inbound marketing. A call-to-action that first pops up after a lot of scrolling may decrease the efficiency of your campaigns.

Ad Network
A grouping of websites or digital properties (like apps) where ads can appear. For example, Google has 2 ad networks: the search network (text ads that appear in search results) and the display network (image ads that appear on millions of websites that have partnered with Google).

Ad Servers
Isn’t it nice to have someone who does the job for you? Yes, it is, and that’s why ad servers exist! Ad servers are automated servers that help you request, bid on, and place your ads on websites, as well as monitor the progress of each campaign. For advertisers handling billions of data per day, ad servers make it easy to select the ads with the most potential and place them on appropriate websites.

Adwords (Google Adwords)
A Google owned program that is used by advertisers to place ads on Google search results pages, on Youtube, and on Google ad network sites. Adwords is the primary platform for PPC advertising.

Affiliate
An affiliate is an individual or company who markets a different company's products for a commission

Affiliate Link
The specific link an affiliate uses to promote a different company’s product or service.  When the customer clicks on the affiliate link, the company makes a sale and the affiliate will get the agreed upon commission for making the sale.

Affiliate Marketing
This is a type of performance-based marketing where a brand rewards affiliate partners for each website visitor or customer brought by the affiliate’s own advertising efforts. Affiliates typically receive discounts or payments based on the number of visitors or customers they bring.

Algorithm
A process or set of rules that computers follow to perform a task. In digital marketing, algorithm usually refers the the sets of processes Google uses to order and rank websites in search results. The SEO industry gives various Google algorithms their own nicknames like Penguin (which analyzes the quality of links pointing to a website) and Panda (which assesses the quality of the content on a website). The main ranking algorithm is SEO is referred to as “The core algorithm”.  An Algorithm Update is a change made to a Google algorithm. Updates typically affect the rankings of websites. Google makes hundreds of adjustments to their algorithms throughout the year, as well as several major updates each year.

Alt Text (or Alternative Text)
An attribute added to HTML code for images, used to provide vision impaired website visitors with information about the contents of a picture. Best practice dictates that all images on a website should have alt text, and that the text should be descriptive of the image.

Anchor Text
The clickable words in a hyperlink. In SEO, anchor text is a ranking signal to Google, as it provides context about the destination site. For example, if many websites link to one particular website using the anchor text “free stock photos”, Google uses that information to understand the destination site is likely a resource with free stock photos. Theoretically, that could help the stock photos website rank in Google for keywords related to stock photography.

API (Application Program Interface)
An API is a way of getting specific information from other applications or websites, which you can use for a variety of different needs. It is similar to a set of tools used for building a software application. The better the tools, the easier it is to make a good product. In the case of an API, the better the API, the easier it is to develop a program.

Automation
Using computer programs to perform tasks that are repetitive, that would normally be completed by a human. Email programs can use automation to send email messages to people based on certain triggers (new customers, did or did not open the last email, etc). Marketers also use automation to nurture leads by sending relevant content to previous visitors of a website, in an attempt to get the visitor back to convert into a sale.

Autopost
Auto post is a new way to post content to your social media accounts. By setting up a fixed schedule once, you do not have to worry about scheduling posts on a daily basis. Instead you can focus on curating and creating high quality content that will be posted automatically based on your pre-set schedule.

Autoresponder
An email that is part of an email sequence to go out automatically after a person activates a certain action.

Average Position
A metric in Google Adwords that helps advertisers understand where, on average, their ads are showing in Google search results pages. There are usually 4 available ad slots at the top of a search result page (where 1 is the first ad, 2 is the second ad, etc), so for the best results advertisers typically want an average position between 1-4. Average position 5+ indicates that your ads are showing at the bottom of the search results page.

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Backlink
This is when one website hyperlinks to another website using html href code. Backlinks are a major factor used by Google in determining organic rankings. The basic idea being that if “website A” has incoming backlinks from other strong/relevant websites (websites B, C, and D), the links are votes of trust for website A. Website A will then gain authority from B, C, and D through those backlinks, which generally results in better rankings and a source of potential referral traffic.

Banner Ad
A popular type of digital image ad that can be placed across various websites. The largest and most popular image ad network is run by Google, and allows ads in the following common sizes:
     250 x 250 – Square
     200 x 200 – Small Square
     468 x 60 – Banner
     728 x 90 – Leaderboard
     300 x 250 – Inline Rectangle
     336 x 280 – Large Rectangle
     120 x 600 – Skyscraper
     160 x 600 – Wide Skyscraper
     300 x 600 – Half-Page Ad
     970 x 90 – Large Leaderboard

Behavioral Targeting
Is serving tailored advertising to audiences by utilizing their previous web browsing behavior in order to drive more engagement.

Bing
A web search engine that provides search services for web, video, image and map search products. Bing is owned and operated by Microsoft, and is powers Yahoo! Search. Bing now controls approximately >20% of the search share.

Bing Ads
A platform that provides pay-per-click advertising on both the Bing and Yahoo! search engines. The service allows businesses to create ads, and subsequently serve the ads to consumers who search for keywords that the businesses bid on. This platform also offers targeting options such as location, demographic, and device targeting.

Black Hat
Slang for an unethical digital marketer or SEO that breaks search engine guidelines, in order to artificially rank websites. They use tactics like duplicate content, spammy link building, and negative SEO.

Blog
Short for “web log”, a blog is a web page or a website that is regularly updated with new written content. Blogs are an important section of a website in digital marketing, as they offer fresh new content on a regular basis which can help attract new visitors, engage existing visitors, and give authority signals to Google.

Bot
An automated program that visits websites, sometimes also referred to as a “crawler” or a “spider”. Search Engines like Google uses bots to crawl websites so that they can be ranked and added to search indexes. Spam bots visit websites for nefarious reasons, often showing in Google Analytics as spammy traffic.

Bottom of the Funnel
Bottom of the funnel is the last stage in the buying process when your prospects are close to becoming new customers. Messages at this stage usually include a product offer, a product demo, a free consultation, etc.

Bounce Rate
Bounce rate is the percentage of visitors to a website that leave immediately without clicking or interacting with any portion of the page. For example, if 100 people visit a website, and 50 of them immediately leave, the website has a bounce rate of 50%. Websites aim to have as low of a bounce rate as possible, and averages tend to be anywhere between 40-60%.

Bread Crumbs
Links at the top of a web page or in a search result, that better help the user navigate the site. Onsite links often appear near the web page’s title and look something like this: Home > Services > Specific Service.

Browser
A browser aka Web Browser is a software application for accessing information on the internet. When a user requests a web page from a particular website, the browser retrieves the necessary content from a web server and then displays the page on the user's device.  Popular web browsers include Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Safari, and Firefox.

Browser Notifications
Browser notifications are simply notifications that can be sent by web applications and websites. The messages are received by the user's browser client. Browser notifications can be sent even when the particular website is not actively in use.

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C

Campaign
an individual email, one single email
 
Canonical (rel=canonical)
A piece of code that is added into the html head of a webpage to indicate to Google whether a piece of content is original or duplicated from somewhere else. Original content should canonical to itself, and content taken from other places should point the canonical to the original source URL. Canonicals can also be used to avoid duplicate content issues within a website.

Chatbot
A chatbot is a software application used to conduct an on-line chat conversation via text. A chatbot is a type of software that can help customers by automating conversations and interacting with them through messaging platforms.

Churn Rate
This is the metric that comes in handy when you want to find out how many customers your business retains and at what value. To find out your churn rate, divide the number of customers you lose within a specific timeframe to the total number you had at the beginning of that period.

Closed-Loop Marketing
If your goal is figuring out how your inbound marketing drives quantifiable business growth, you might want to take a look at this one. The practice means being able to execute and tie in marketing efforts to bottom-line impact.

Cloud Computing
If you do not have space or resources to build your own computing infrastructure, then cloud computing is for you! It allows its users to store, manage, and transfer data using host servers. There are several types of clouds with different purpose and benefits. 

CMP (Cloud Management Platform)
CMP is a group of products that can be used to manage and monitor cloud computing resources either in private, public, or multi-cloud models.

Click Map/Heat Map
A click map/heat map is a data visualisation technique, showing a variety of colors, reflecting where visitors are clicking on your website.

Code
The languages used to build a website. The most commonly used languages in web design are HTML, CSS, JS, and PHP.

Contact Form
A section on a website with fillable fields that visitors use to contact the website owner. Most commonly used to collect names, phone numbers, and email addresses of potential customers. Contact forms are fast becoming a preferred method for reaching out to a business.  In Builderall, the contact form can be used to email individual form submissions, or can be used with webhooks to capture information and integrate with 3rd party platforms using Zapier.

Content
Any form of online media that can be read, watched, or provides an interactive experience. Content commonly refers to written materials, but also includes images and videos.

Conversion
The completion of a predefined goal. This is often used to track the number of site visitors that have been “converted” into paying customers, though sales are not always chosen as the metric. Other common goals are newsletter subscriptions and content downloads from the website.

Conversion Path
This is defined as a series of actions by which an anonymous website visitor becomes a known lead. Typical steps in your conversion path may be a call-to-action, a lead capturing form,a thank you page, etc.

Conversion Pixel
A piece of code that are placed on your website to track whether a person has landed or converted on a specific web page.  A conversion pixel is typically used to verify that a sale was made or a lead generated.  The conversion pixel is added to the sales confirmation/thank you page.

Cookie
As much as we wish this were a real sweet treat in the internet terminology, a cookie is a unique value stored on your browser (in the form of a small file cookie.txt) assigned by websites you visit. The purpose of a cookie is to keep track of where the user is and help create customized web pages, customize the ad experience, or save login info. 

CPA (Cost Per Acquisition)
A metric in paid advertising platforms that measures how much money is spent in order to acquire a new lead or customer. It can be calculated by dividing the total spend by the number of conversions, for a given period of time. For example, if in a month a PPC account spends $1000 dollars and gets 10 conversions (leads), then the cost per acquisition is $100. It is similar to CPC (Cost Per Click) and CPM (Cost Per Mile).

CPC (Cost Per Click)
The amount of money spent for a click on an ad in a Pay-Per-Click campaign. In the Adwords platform, each keyword will have an estimated click cost, but the prices change in real time as advertisers bid against each other for each keyword. Average CPCs can range from less than $1 dollar for longtail or low-competition keywords, to upwards of $100 per click for competitive terms, primarily in legal, insurance, and water damage restoration industries.

CPM (Cost Per Mille) / CPT (Cost Per Thousand)
Stands for “Cost Per Thousand” (M is the roman numeral for 1,000). This is the amount an advertiser pays for 1,000 impressions of their ad. For example, if a publisher charges $10 CPM, and your ad shows 2000 times, you will pay $20 for the campaign ($10 x 1000 impressions) x 2. Measuring ad success with CPM is most common in awareness campaigns, where impressions are more important than conversions or clicks. It is similar to CPC (Cost Per Click) and CPA (Cost Per Action).

CR (Conversion Rate)
The rate at which visitors to a website complete the predefined goal. It is calculated by dividing the number of goal achievements by the total number of visitors. For example, if 100 people visit a website and 10 of them complete the conversion goal (like filling out a contact form) then the conversion rate is 10%.

Crawler
An automated program that scans websites to determine their content and purpose. The name reflects how the software “crawls” through the code, which is why they are sometimes also referred to as “spiders”. Crawlers are used by Google to find new content and to evaluate the quality of webpages for their index. Webmasters and SEOs can request additional scans through Google Search Console.

CRM (Customer Relationship Management)
CRM is the approach of managing and analyzing your brand’s relationship with potential and existing customers. Digital marketers usually use a CRM system to support this strategy - to streamline processes and increase profitability.

CRO (Conversion Rate Optimization)
A branch of digital marketing that aims to improve the conversion rate of web pages, thus making the pages more profitable. Conversion rate optimization combines psychology with marketing and web design in order to influence the behavior of the web page visitor. CRO uses a type of testing called “A/B split testing” to determine which version of a page (version A or version B) is more successful.CRO consists of numerous techniques, and testing methods.

CSS
Stands for “Cascading Style Sheets”. CSS is a document of code that tells the website’s HTML how it should appear on screen. CSS is a time saving document for web designers, as they can style batched-sections of HTML code, rather than styling individual lines of code one-at-a-time.

CTA (Call To Action)
When it comes to online advertising, a good choice of words and a persuasive CTA are essential. A CTA is a message or element on a web page used to guide visitors towards a specific action or conversion. A CTA can be a clickable button, an image, or standard text. They typically uses imperative verb phrases like: “call today” or “buy now”.

CTR (Click-Through Rate)
The ratio of how many times an advertisement was clicked on, versus how many times it was shown. It is calculated by dividing the ad’s clicks by the ad’s impressions. For example, if an ad is shown to 100 people, and 10 of them click the ad, then it has a click through rate of 10% (10 clicks / 100 impressions = 10%) This ratio can be useful when determining whether the messaging matches what the consumer is searching for, and if it resonates with them. A higher click-through-rate means more engagement, which generally leads to more quality conversions.

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D

DAM (Digital Asset Management)
When you’re handling many digital files on a daily basis, DAM may come in handy. This process helps you store and categorize your digital assets easier, so thar you can access them at any time from one place.
Dark Web (or Dark Net)
A part of the internet that is not indexed by search engines and is generally found only on secret or encrypted servers and requires special software or configurations to access. The Dark Web is thought to be used for illicit activities like black markets, illegal information sharing and underground political discourse.

Dashboard
A web page that contains and displays aggregate data about the performance of a website or digital marketing campaign. A dashboard pulls information from various data sources and displays the info in an easy-to-read format.

Data Visualization
This is the process of visually representing specific information to make it easier to understand. Dashboards and infographics are common examples of visualizations.

Deep Web
In contrast to the Surface Web (indexed sites), this part of the internet that is not indexed by search engines, but does not deal in illegal activities, like the Dark Web. This consists of a variety of databases, documents, reports and other information that is not available to the public. It can also include things like web mail, online banking or subscription based content like videos, magazines, newspapers or other publications.

Digital Assistant
Sometimes known as a virtual assistant or intelligent personal assistant, this software or application can perform tasks or services via verbal commands from a user. These assistants are generally used to answer questions, set events and to-do lists, and can be set up to control utilities like lights and other automated devices in homes or businesses. Most smart devices also have built in digital assistants like Siri or Alexa.  Google, Amazon and Apple offer some of the most robust digital assistants on the market.

Digital Marketing
A catchall term for online work that includes specialized marketing practices like SEO, PPC, CRO, web design, blogging, content, and any other form of advertising on a internet-connected device with a screen. Traditionally, television was not considered digital marketing, however the shift from cable television to internet streaming means that digital advertising can now be served to online TV viewers.

Directory
A website that categorically lists websites with similar themes. Some directories like chambers of commerce (a list of businesses in one geographic area) can be helpful for SEO, however widespread abuse of spam directories led Google to discount links from directories whose sole purpose was selling links.

Display Ads
Ads on a display network which include many different formats such as: images, flash, video, and audio. Also commonly known as banner ads, these are the advertisements that are seen around the web on news sites, blogs, and social media.

Display Network
A network of websites and apps that show display ads on their web pages. Google’s display network spans over 2 million websites that reach over 90% of people on the internet. Businesses can target consumers on the display network based on keywords/topics, placement on specific webpages, and through remarketing.

DNS (Domain Name System)
An internet protocol that translates website URLs (which use alphabetic characters) into IP addresses (that use numeric characters). DNS exists because it is more useful for internet users to remember letters and words in website URLs, but the world wide web communicates in numbers with IP addresses. Without DNS, every website would just be a string of numbers rather than a traditional URL.

Dofollow
A phrase that denotes a hyperlink absent of a “nofollow” tag. By default, a hyperlink is a dofollow link until a “nofollow” piece of code is added to it. Dofollow links pass SEO equity to the destination URL, while “nofollow” links do not.

Domain
It is the "home" address of your website where other internet users can go to visit your website.  The structure of a domain name is:  http://www.yourdomainname.com.  In digital marketing, a domain name is important in the branding process of a business because it identifies the website and email for the company.  For example, Builderall uses http://www.builderall.com for their website, and emails are staff@builderall.com.

Double Optin Subscriber List
A double opt-in adds an additional step to the email subscription opt-in process, requiring a user to verify their email address and confirm interest. 

Drip Nurturing
Is a lead nurturing method that uses automated tailored content & triggers that are ‘dripped’ at a specific time with the goal of driving a desired action (e.g: a sale). Drip campaigns or drip emails are usually used here.

Duplicate Content
Refers to instances where portions of text are found in at least two different places on the web. When the same content is found on multiple websites, it can cause ranking issues for one or all of the websites, as Google does not want to show multiple websites in search results that have the exact same information. Generally, the site that indexed the content first is considered to be the original content and would not be penalized. Duplicate content can result from plagiarism, automated content scrapers, or lazy web design. Duplicate content can also be a problem within one website — if multiple versions of a page exists, Google may not understand which version to show in search results, and the pages are competing against each other, this is also known as keyword cannibalization. Issues like this can occur when new versions of pages are added, without deleting or forwarding the old version, or through poor URL structures.

Dynamic Content
Dynamic content is the process of displaying different messaging on your website or in your online advertising (e.g. Facebook’s Dynamic Ads) based on information you have or your enriching about your target audience.

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E

Ecommerce
Stands for Electronic Commerce, it is a classification for businesses that conduct business online. The most common form of e commerce business is an online retailer that sells products direct to the consumer.

ELearning
Learning conducted via electronic media, typically on the internet.

Email
Define not only email but professional email

Email List
A collection of email addresses that can be used to send targeted email marketing campaigns. Lists are typically segmented by user classification, so a list of existing customers can receive one type of communication, while potential customers can receive more promotional communication.

Email Marketing
The use of email with the goal of acquiring sales, customers, or any other type of conversion.

Email Marketing Campaign
A marketing system that uses software to automatically send emails based on predefined triggers. A series of advertising messages that share a theme, and market a product or service. In the context of digital marketing, campaigns can be run through search and display network advertising platforms (i.e. Google, Bing), social media, email, or other online platforms. Campaigns can also refer to a comprehensive digital marketing strategy or project.  Multiple automated emails in a sequence are used create user funnels and segment them, based on behavior. For example, an automation funnel could be set to send “Email A” when a person provides their email address, then either “Email 2a” or “Email 2b” would be sent based on whether or not the person clicked on the first email.

Email Marketing Form
Is an element on your page that will help you capture visitors on your site’s  email address, contact numbers and various other fields. 

Email Sequence
Email sequences are a series of email touchpoints sent over a period of time with a goal of converting prospects into customers.

Engagement Rate
This is a valuable metric used to describe the amount of social media interaction a post, ad, or campaign has. This is usually measured based on interactions like Comments, Shares, and Like.

Event Tracking
If you want to track beyond revenue and conversion metrics, keep an eye on Event Tracking. This is a method for analytics and social (e.g. using Facebook’s pixel) that helps you track your customers’ journey every step of the way by analyzing certain behaviors like form fills, cart additions, or newsletter sign-ups.

Evergreen
This is the type of content that is always relevant to your audiences, no matter when they read it. Compared to time-sensitive content such as seasonal articles or campaigns, evergreen content continues to provide value way beyond its release date.

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F

Facebook
An online social networking website where people can create profiles, share information such as photos and quotes about themselves or business.

Facebook Ad Manager
An advertising account on Facebook that allows you to run ads on the Facebook Ad Network.

Facebook Business Manager
A Facebook platform that allows marketers to manage multiple pages and ad accounts in one central location.

Facebook Messenger
Facebook Messenger is a mobile app that enables chat, voice and video communications between the social media site's web-based messaging and smartphones.

FE (Front End)
The front-end of a website is the part that users interact with. Everything that you see when you're navigating around the Internet, from fonts and colors to dropdown menus and sliders, is a combo of HTML, CSS, and JavaScript being controlled by your computer's browser.  Front end offer is the first offer in a sales funnel.

FQDN (Fully Qalitified Domain Name)
A fully qualified domain name is the entire required elements of a domain name to make it a clickable link.  A FQDN typically has the http://www. in front of the domain.  An example:  http://www.builderall.com is a fully qualified domain name.  Some platforms such as YouTube require a FQDN in the description to create a clickable link.
 
Friction Element
A friction describes any type of element that causes your website visitors or campaign to stop taking a desired action. On a website, a friction can be a distracting color, a confusing message, etc.

FTP (File Transfer Protocol)
FTP or File Transfer Protocol is a network protocol standardized to make transferring of computer files between a client and a server easier.

Funnel
A visual representation of the customer journey, depicting the sales process from awareness to action.

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Geo Targeting
Geo Targeting is an effective way for increasing conversions where content is delivered to audiences based on their geographic locations. It’s effectively used in paid search or social campaign. The location can be a country, state, city and more.

Google AdSense
A Google platform that allows websites to earn money by publishing Google network ads on their website.

Google AdWords
Google AdWords is an online advertising service made by Google where customers can create and manage ads within the Google universe (on Google Search, Display, YouTube, etc.).   It is Google's advertising system in which advertisers bid on certain keywords in order for their clickable ads to appear in Google's search results. Since advertisers have to pay for these clicks, this is how Google makes money from search.

Google Analytics
Even if you are entirely new to the digital marketing world, you have most likely heard about Google Analytics already. This analytics service is provided by Google, and it helps you track, analyze, and measure all types of revenues and costs of your website, advertising campaigns, videos, social channels, etc.

Google Tag Manager
Google Tag Manager is a tag management system that includes the same functionality as global site tags, and lets you configure and instantly deploy tags on your website or mobile app from an easy to use web-based user interface.

Gray Hat
Slang for a digital marketer or SEO methods that skirt the line of being unethical.  They may not break search engine guidelines, but come very close.  Typically gray hat tactics are not as dangerous legally as black hat, but can be considered unethical depending on location and can result in being banned from certain platforms.

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H

Hard Bounce
In email marketing, hard bounces are simply emails that were not delivered. This can happen for different reasons: the recipient email address could be wrong or inactive, the recipient might have blocked you or reported your emails as spam etc.

Heatmap
A visual representation of data that uses a system of color-coding to represent different values. It shows where users have clicked on a page and how far they scroll down a page.

Hosting
The location your website files are at while they are live on the internet.  Hosting is included in all Builderall paid plans.

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I

Instagram
Instagram is an American photo and video sharing social networking service 

Interactive Content
Interactive content is the type of online content that engages audiences in a certain activity. In return, participants get real-type and relevant results. Think of a survey tool or an interactive infographic that captures your attention right from the start.

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Javascript
A specific language of computer code.  Builderall can accept some javascript in the scripts area of the website settings, page settings, and in the iFrame element.

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K

KLT (Know Like Trust)
Know, Like, Trust.  It is a method of "relationship marketing" that is build around the company allowing prospective clients to get to know them (the company, the mission and goals, or the people in the company), then some clients will like the company or the people, and the the client will trust them enough to spend their money with them.

KPI (Key Performance Indicator)
A KPI is a type of performance measurement used to demonstrate how effectively a marketing project, company, or employee is achieving key business objectives. Common KPIs are cost reduction, revenue improvement, or increased customer satisfaction.

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L

Lead Generation
In marketing and sales, lead generation is the process of attracting and converting new potential customers in order to drive future sales. For many companies, this is a crucial stage of their sales and marketing strategy

Lead Nurturing
Lead nurturing is a process used in inbound marketing for pushing leads further in the buying lifecycle by targeting them with contextually-relevant content. This can be done through different channels like email or social media

Lifecycle (Customer Lifecycle)
These are stages used to define the relationship that you have with your potential or existing customers. Common lifecycle stages are Awareness, Evaluation, Purchase, and Retention.  Understand the customer lifecycle can help you with targeting your marketing efforts.

List (see Subscriber List)
A section in Mailingboss where you create a "database" where all your leads/subscribers will be added to for email distribution.
 
Lookalike Audience
A lookalike audience is a type of custom audience used in social media targeting - popularized by Facebook and LinkedIn. It helps you target audiences with similar characteristics to existing ones. Here’s an example: let’s say you have many people visiting your website. With a Lookalike Audience, you could easily advertise to people similar to your visitors.

LTV (Lifetime Value)
LTV is a useful metric that helps you find out what customer groups are valuable to your business and what total worth they bring during their lifetime. Differently said, it shows the total revenue your business can expect from every single customer.

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M

Magic Funnel
A funnel specifically designed to sign up a free lead in Builderall.  Through the use of a contact form, the customer information is captured and in the background, a new free account is created.  This funnel is not used for the purposes of signing up paid members.

Marketing
Marketing refers to activities a company undertakes to promote the buying or selling of a product or service. Marketing includes advertising, selling, and delivering products to consumers or other businesses. Some marketing is done by affiliates on behalf of a company.

Marketing Automation
Managing and automating all your marketing processes across multiple channels.

Martech (Marketing Technology)
Simply put, Martech is a term used to describe the overlap between marketing and technology. Software suites & tech tools used by marketers to drive more marketing impact usually fall under the martech umbrella.

Mockup
A mockup is a full-size model of a design or device, used for product presentations or other purposes. Think of it as a means of showing off what your design or product is.

MVP (Minimum Viable Product)
A minimum viable product is a term mostly used in sofware to describe the most basic version of a product that can carry out its desired function.

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N

Native Advertising
Native advertising is a popular type of social media advertising where an ad follows the form, function, and feel of the content of the media where it’s placed. Native ads are currently considered more effective in terms of engagement, as they enable marketers to target audiences with content that closely matches their experience.

NPS (Net Promoter Score)
If you’re conducting customer surveys and you’re interested in customer satisfaction, NPS is a handy metric. It helps you find out how likely a customer would be to recommend, on a scale of 0-10, your product, service or company to somebody else.

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O

Omnichannel Marketing
Omnichannel Marketing is a cross-channel marketing strategy that focuses on delivering unified experiences - regardless of the touchpoints or devices your customers are using.

Open Rate
Open rate is used in relation to email marketing. Simply put, it’s the value that shows you many recipients have opened your email. Open Rate should not be confused with Total Opens. The latter shows you many times your email has been opened by everyone. This can be done by the same users who have chosen to open your email multiple times.

Optin Form
A form that allows a website visitor to choose to enter their information (most importantly their email) so they can be added to a subscriber list to receive more information.

OTO (One Time Offer)
An OTO (one time offer) is typically after the front-end offer in a sales funnel.  One time offer means that a product or service will be sold in the funnel one time at that price or will only be sold in that funnel and will not be available at that price outside of the funnel.  One-time-offers cause FOMO (fear of missing out) to be a driving factor in the purchase of the product or service.

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Page Views
Page Views represent all the visitors of your website. Each reload of the webpage by the same visitor counts as a new page view.

Personalization
In the context of marketing, personalization is a popular practice that enables you to tailor user experiences by delivering personalized content to specific users based on behavior and context. This technology typically uses advanced machine learning and automation processes.

Pixel
A short bit of code added to a web page that tracks a visitor's habits on the internet.  The data from the code is collected to aid in fine-tuning marketing to make sure marketing efforts are reaching highly targeted potential customers.

Position 0
Position Zero is used in search engine optimization to describe the featured (and desired) snippet of text that shows up in search right before the search results.

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QR Code
A QR Code or Quick Response Code is a scannable barcode used to encode data such as text or an URL.

Qualified Lead
In digital marketing, a Qualified Lead is a term used to describe a lead that has shown interest in your brand and is likely to become a new customer based on a specific set of qualification criteria. This can be anything from a guide they have downloaded or a service they have signed up to.

Quota
A standard limit.  This could include a quota for the number of domains in a Builderall paid plan or the disk space available in Builderall paid plans. 

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Redirect
When a page or link is redirected or rerouted to a different page or link.

Referral Marketing
Referral marketing is the process of promoting products or services to new customers through referrals or recommendations. Compared to traditional online advertising, it’s usually done through word of mouth.

Regular (Broadcast) Email
This type of email is sent and received to everyone in a subscriber list on a specific date and time.  These emails are used when there is a time sensitive announcement or information that is date sensitive.

Remarketing
Remarketing is an effective way to reconnect with your website visitors who haven’t achieved a desired action like signing up for a service or buying a product. It enables marketers to target them with new ads that will make them more likely to convert .

Responsive
Responsive web design or responsive design is an approach to web design that aims to make web pages render well on a variety of devices and window or screen sizes from minimum to maximum display size to ensure usability and satisfaction.

ROAS (Return On Advertisement Spending)
After you start using AdWords, you want to see if your advertising is making an impact. This is when you check your ROAS - a calculation of the results (purchases, downloads, page views, etc.) divided by the budget spent on advertising. Contrary to ROI (Return On Investment), ROAS is only operating with the money spent on advertising, cutting down all the other costs in the investment (marketers’ salaries, etc.).

ROI (Return On Investment)
When you put your money and effort into something, you probably want to know what results it's driving. ROI measures the performance and the efficiency of your investment compared with other investments. ROI is calculated by dividing total revenue by the total cost of investments. In digital marketing, ROI is often substituted for ROAS.

RPC (Revenue Per Click)
You can calculate your RPC like this: Goal Value x Conversion Rate. Voilà, now you know whether your ad (or keyword) is profitable or not!

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SaaS (Software as a Service)
Google, Dropbox, Salesforce, MailChimp, Shopify - what do they have in common? They are all providing systems as a service. That means that they provide a third-party software solution that hosts a platform for the application and software and makes them readily available to their clients. It is beneficial for companies in the sense that they don’t have to invest in new hardware and software, they can use a third-party solution by paying a subscription fee.

SAINT (Site Catalyst Attribute Import Naming Tool)
Classifications (SAINT) are one of the enduring features of Site Catalyst (Adobe Analytics). In general, classifications (both utm_id and SAINT) are making marketers’ lives easier. SAINT allows users (advertisers) to upload customized metadata within the Site Catalyst, analyze, and process them. By classifying the data, you are attributing them specific characteristics and creating a relationship between a variable (campaign’s source, medium, keyword, etc.) and all the metadata related to it. In other words, the campaign link that is classified can be used to measure all the variables through one link because the analytical tool (Site Catalyst) recognizes the classification and knows what is going on. Without classification, you have to create specific campaign links to measure all the variables separately and manually, which takes time and energy.

Sales Funnel
It is the visual representation of the customer journey, depicting the sales process from awareness to action.

Script
Sometimes referred to as call scripts or cold calling scripts – refers to a prescribed set of talking points that are commonly used by marketers when speaking to prospects via email and landing pages.  Script can also refer to specific computer language code that can be added to a website to give it more functionality.

SEA (Search Engine Advertising)
Are you longing for that top result in most search engines? You can improve your SEO by paying for it. SEA means that you are buying the top spots in a search engine’s result page. However, your link will have the little “Ad” button or other indication that it is a paid link.

SEM (Search Engine Marketing)
Have you noticed the little yellow boxes that say “ad” next to the top links in a search query? That’s search engine marketing! Because most users select the first options that are shown in search results, businesses pay to get their website linked at the top hoping that people will click their link. This is done through AdWords for Google search results. Other search engines (Bing, Yahoo, etc.) have similar tools.

SEO (Search Engine Optimization)
Through technical (e.g., a correctly structured website that a search engine understands) and creative (using the right keywords, optimized headlines etc.) aspects, well-made SEO improves your chances of appearing among the first results in a search query on Google or other search engines.

Sequence
a predetermined set of emails that send in a particular order (could be just one)
 
Single Optin Subscriber List
It means that users are added to your mailing list right after they enter their email address and click “Subscribe.” There's no need to confirm the subscription with a confirmation email

Sitebot
It is a software application that runs automated tasks on your site, usually with the intent to emulate human activity on the site.

SMS (text messages)
SMS is a text messaging service component of most telephone, Internet, and mobile device systems.

SMTP (Simple Mail Transfer Protocol)
The Simple Mail Transfer Protocol is an internet standard communication protocol for electronic mail transmission. Mail servers and other message transfer agents use SMTP to send and receive mail messages.

SSL (Secure Socket Layer)
SSL stands for Secure Sockets Layer and, in short, it's the standard technology for keeping an internet connection secure and safeguarding any sensitive data that is being sent between two systems, preventing criminals from reading and modifying any information transferred, including potential personal details

Social Proof
Social proof is a psychological and social phenomenon wherein people copy the actions of others in an attempt to undertake behaviour in a given situation.

Soft Bounce
A Soft Bounce is a term used in email marketing to notify a sender that their email was delivered to the recipient(s), but ‘soft bounced’ back. Common reasons are a full inbox, an email that is too large to deliver. or an email server that is temporarily down.  

Solo Ads
Solo ads are email-based advertisements you buy from other email list owners. They're typically sent as dedicated emails – so the entire message is all about your promotion. While other businesses can make use of solo ads, they're most popular among affiliates and information marketers.

Subscriber
A user who permits a particular brand to send regular emails to them. When users voluntarily subscribe to receive email newsletters, they launch what ideally grows into mutually beneficial relationships

Subscriber List
A section in Mailingboss where you create a "database" where all your leads/subscribers will be added to for email distribution.

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TAG
Think of tags as virtual sticky notes about a specific subscriber that tells you more about their interests, likes, and behaviours. Email marketing tags can be added automatically when a person takes action on your website, or interacts with your email, sign up form, or landing page.

Telegram
A freeware, cross-platform, cloud-based instant messaging service. The service also provides end-to-end encrypted video calling, VoIP, file sharing and several other features.

Template
Website templates are pre-designed layouts that allow you to arrange content onto a webpage to create a simple yet well-designed website. You can drag and drop elements like image blocks, photo galleries, logos, and more into the template to make it your own.

TOFU (Top of the Funnel)
TOFU stands for the first stage of the buying funnel. At this point - also called the awareness point, your target audiences are typically wide and have challenges that you can help them solve through helpful content such as guides or best practices. Your messaging has very little to do with the product or service that you are selling.

Tracking
The practice by which operators of websites and third parties collect, store and share information about visitors' activities on the World Wide Web.

Traffic
Organic and paid

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URL (Uniform Resource Locator)
URLs are what we use in the address bar of our browser to tell our browser where to get the information we want (like a specific website). URLs most commonly appear in the form of HTTP or HTTPS protocols, for example, ‘https://accutics.com/’

URL Shortener
A program that allows you to add a long URL and it creates a shorter URl to use when sharing the link.  Builderall has a URL shortener in the affiliate dashboard.

utm_id
A utm_id is a classification campaign code used for Google Analytics. Classifications make the lives of marketers easier, as it enables them to track their campaign URLs in their analytics platforms.

UTM Parameters
UTM parameters are simply tags that you add to a URL. When someone clicks on a URL with UTM parameters, those tags are sent back to your Google Analytics for tracking purposes. The most common parameters are medium, source, campaign, term, content. However, parameters are versatile and can be customized according to what you want to track. 

UV (Unique Visitor)
Unique Visitor stands for a visitor that returns to your website repeatedly in a set period. Contrary to Page View, UV is tied to one visitor, so even if they visit a website ten times (which results in ten page views), the UV still counts as one.

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VA (Virtual Assistant)
An assistant that is not located near their hiring company.  Virtual assistants work remotely, access the resources, and meet with their leaders through the internet.  Builderall enables premium members to allow virtual assistants to access their dashboard and work in designated areas of their account.

Viral Content
Viral content is content that gets really popular really fast - usually by having viewers/ visitors sharing it to others soon after publishing.

Voice Search
Voice search is an increasingly popular technology that allows users to search the web, a website or an app using a voice command.
VSL (Video Sales Letter)

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Webinar
A webinar is an online event that is hosted by an organization/company and broadcast to a select group of individuals through their computers via the Internet. (A webinar is sometimes also referred to as a “webcast”, “online event” or “web seminar”.)

Website
Agroup of world wide web pages usually containing hyperlinks to each other and made available online by an individual, company, educational institution, government, or organization.

WhatsApp
A cross-platform instant messaging application that allows iphone, android and other smartphone users to exchange text, image, video and audio messages for free.

Wireframe
A website wireframe, also known as a page schematic or screen blueprint, is a visual guide that represents the skeletal framework of a website.

WordPress
WordPress is a free, open-source website creation platform. On a more technical level, WordPress is a content management system (CMS) written in PHP that uses a MySQL database. In non-geek speak, WordPress is the easiest and most powerful blogging and website builder in existence today.

Workflow
a graphical representation of the emails that you want to send out

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Z

Zapier
A software tool designed to connect/bridge the data from two different softwares by creating a zap.

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